Gapers Block has ceased publication.

Gapers Block published from April 22, 2003 to Jan. 1, 2016. The site will remain up in archive form. Please visit Third Coast Review, a new site by several GB alumni.
 Thank you for your readership and contributions. 


Monday, July 4

Gapers Block

Gapers Block on Facebook Gapers Block on Flickr Gapers Block on Twitter The Gapers Block Tumblr


The 2005 MacArthur Fellows have been announced, and three of the 25 are from Chicago. Steven Goodman, Kevin M. Murphy, and Olufunmilayo Olopade will all receive $500,000 over the next five years, no strings attached. The complete list of Fellows is here.

GB store


GB store

GB Store

GB Buttons $1.50

GB T-Shirt $12

I ✶ Chi T-Shirts $15