Gapers Block has ceased publication.

Gapers Block published from April 22, 2003 to Jan. 1, 2016. The site will remain up in archive form. Please visit Third Coast Review, a new site by several GB alumni.
 Thank you for your readership and contributions. 


Monday, March 27

Gapers Block

Gapers Block on Facebook Gapers Block on Flickr Gapers Block on Twitter The Gapers Block Tumblr

Book Club
« Inside The Bricklayer One-Shots: Joshua Emmons »

Awards Fri Sep 03 2010

Peace Through Words

Three Chicago authors have been named as 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize finalists in the nonfiction category: Dave Eggers, for Zeitoun; and Roger Thurow and Scott Kilman for Enough: Why the Worlds Poorest Starve in an Age of Plenty. The award is, according to the website, "the first and only annual U.S. literary award recognizing the power of the written word to promote peace." Started in 2006, it has recognized Chicago writers in the past: the inaugural Dayton Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Studs Terkel.

GB store
GB store
Gapers Block presents Tuesday Funk, Chicago's ecclectic monthly reading series.
GB store



About GB Book Club

Book Club is the literary section of Gapers Block, covering Chicago's authors, poets and literary events. More...

Editor: Andrew Huff,
Book Club staff inbox:



 Subscribe in a reader.

GB store

GB Store

GB Buttons $1.50

GB T-Shirt $12

I ✶ Chi T-Shirts $15