As of January 1, 2016, Gapers Block has ceased publication. The site will remain up in archive form. Please visit Third Coast Review, a new site by several GB alumni.
 Thank you for your readership and contributions over the past 12-plus years. 


Thursday, February 27

Gapers Block

Gapers Block on Facebook Gapers Block on Flickr Gapers Block on Twitter The Gapers Block Tumblr

Book Club
« RUI @ Sheffield's The Gapers Block Book Club: A History »

Events Wed Nov 03 2010

Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

On Saturday, Nov. 20, Chicago journalist and radio personality Rick Kogan will emcee the inaugural induction ceremony for the fledgling Chicago Literary Hall of Fame.

The ceremony will be honoring notable writers Nelson Algren, Saul Bellow, Gwendolyn Brooks, Lorraine Hansberry, Studs Terkel and Richard Wright for their contributions to local literature. Among those accepting the posthumous honors of their famous writer relatives will be Greg Bellow, Nora Brooks Blakely, Dan Terkell, Dana Smith (grandniece of Richard Wright) and Taye Hansberry (grandniece of Lorraine).

This special event takes place at Northeastern University auditorium at 3701 W. Bryn Mawr Ave. in Chicago and starts at 6pm. Tickets are $45 and can be ordered online here.

For more information, visit the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame website or contact the Chicago Writers Association.

GB store
GB store
Gapers Block presents Tuesday Funk, Chicago's ecclectic monthly reading series.
GB store



About GB Book Club

Book Club is the literary section of Gapers Block, covering Chicago's authors, poets and literary events. More...

Editor: Andrew Huff,
Book Club staff inbox:



 Subscribe in a reader.

GB store

GB Store

GB Buttons $1.50

GB T-Shirt $12

I ✶ Chi T-Shirts $15