Gapers Block has ceased publication.

Gapers Block published from April 22, 2003 to Jan. 1, 2016. The site will remain up in archive form. Please visit Third Coast Review, a new site by several GB alumni.
 Thank you for your readership and contributions. 


Wednesday, October 28

Gapers Block

Gapers Block on Facebook Gapers Block on Flickr Gapers Block on Twitter The Gapers Block Tumblr

« Sox Beat Angels 6-2 Jeremy Roenick Retires »

Fire Thu Aug 06 2009

Fire Fall to Tigres in Final

$1 million was within reach. But when the final penalty shot from Tigres player Itamar Batista sped past Chicago Fire goalie Jon Busch, the Tigres became the winners of the 2009 SuperLiga Final.

The Fire scored first in the 10th minute with a header from Patrick Nyarko. The Tigres did not see the back of the goal until two minutes before halftime, when Batista got around two defenders and shot the ball into the lower-right corner. With momentum going the other direction at the start of the second half, the Fire was forced to come out blazing. Despite delivering 9 shots on goal, The Fire could not break the 1-1 tie, and the game went to penalty kicks to determine the winner.

While the Fire delivered three goals, the Tigres did one better with four to take home the trophy and the prize money.

The Fire returns to MLS play this Sunday, August 9, when they travel to Houston to take on the Dynamos, leaders in the Western Conference.

GB store
GB store
GB store

Tailgate on Flickr

Join the Tailgate Flickr Pool.

About Tailgate

Tailgate is the sports section of Gapers Block, covering all Chicago sports. More...
Please see our submission guidelines.

Editor: Chad Ruter,
Tailgate staff inbox:



Tailgate Flickr Pool
 Subscribe in a reader.

GB store

GB Store

GB Buttons $1.50

GB T-Shirt $12

I ✶ Chi T-Shirts $15