Ad: [ ? ]
TODAY

Saturday, October 25

Gapers Block
Search

Gapers Block on Facebook Gapers Block on Flickr Gapers Block on Twitter The Gapers Block Tumblr


Transmission
« It's Coming! Record Store Day 2012 Matt Carlson and you (and Lampo), traveling the spaceways together »

Concert Wed Apr 18 2012

Millennium Park Free Summer Concert Lineup

The Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs announced its free summer concert lineup for The Jay Pritzker Pavilion within Millennium Park. This year we get four series: the electronic and new music heavy Loops and Variations, indie rock star studded Downtown Sound, the classical-leaning Grand Park Music Festival, and Made in Chicago: World Class Jazz.

Downtown Sound

Monday, May 28, 6:30 pm
Kelly Hogan + Scott Lucas and the Married Men

Monday, June 4, 6:30 pm
Jonathan Richman + Joel Paterson and the Modern Sounds

Monday, June 11, 6:30 pm
The Eternals + Wild Belle

Monday, June 18, 6:30 pm
Cloud Cult + Judson Claiborne

Monday, June 25, 6:30 pm
Occidental Brothers Dance Band International + Chico Trujillo

Monday, July 2, 6:30 pm
Joan of Arc + Daniel Knox

Monday, July 9, 6:30 pm
The Sadies + James Vincent McMorrow

Monday, July 16, 6:30 pm
Charles Bradley and his Extraordinaires + Abigail Washburn

Monday, July 23, 6:30 pm
Ana Tijoux + Sidi Touré

Monday, July 30, 6:30 p.m.
SMOD + M.A.K.U. Soundsystem

Loops And Variations

Thursday, June 7, 6:30 pm
Chris Clark, Jan Jelinek and Andrew Pekler, and Casino Versus Japan

Thursday, June 14, 6:30 pm
Deerhoof and Ensemble Dal Niente

Thursday, June 28, 6:30 pm
eighth blackbird

Thursday, July 5, 6:30 pm
A Winged Victory for the Sullen and ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble)

Thursday, July 12, 6:30 pm
Third Coast Percussion

Sunday, August 26, 5:30 pm
John Luther Adams' Inuksuit

Grant Park Music Festival

Wednesday, June 13, 2012, 6:30pm
Opening Night
Grant Park Orchestra perform Elgar: Pomp and Circumstance No. 1, Elgar: Cello Concerto, and Dvořák: Symphony No. 8

Friday, June 15, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, June 16, 2012, 7:30pm
An Exaltation of Place
Grant Park Orchestra And Chorus perform Liszt: Les Préludes, Schuman: A Free Song
Handel: Royal Fireworks Music, and Gandolfi: Only Converge: An Exaltation of Place

Wednesday, June 20, 2012, 6:30pm and Friday, June 22, 2012, 6:30pm
Mozart's Jupiter Symphony
Grant Park Orchestra perform Strauss: Don Juan, Britten: Piano Concerto, and Mozart: Symphony No. 41, Jupiter

Saturday, June 23, 2012, 7:30pm
An American in Paris
Grant Park Orchestra perform Bizet: L'Arlésienne, Lalo: Namouna, Gershwin: An American in Paris, and Ravel: Bolero

Friday, June 29, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, June 30, 2012, 7:30pm
Golden Anniversary Choral Spectacular
Grant Park Chorus perform Stravinsky: Les Noces, Whitacre: Cloudburst, Tormis: Raua Needmine, and Orff: Carmina Burana

Wednesday, July 4, 2012, 6:30pm
Independence Day Celebration
Grant Park Orchestra perform Bernstein: Candide: Overture, Gould: Amber Waves
Williams: Olympic Fanfare and Theme, Copland: Old American Songs, Grofé: Mississippi Suite, Gershwin: Girl Crazy: Overture, Wendell: Sea to Shining Sea, Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture, andSousa: The Stars and Stripes Forever

Friday, July 6, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, July 7, 2012, 7:30pm
Sleepers and Dreamers
Grant Park Orchestra perform Brahms: Tragic Overture, Vaughan Williams: Five Mystical Songs, Strauss: Death and Transfiguration, and Currier: Sleepers and Dreamers

Wednesday, July 11, 2012, 8:30pm
Frozen Planet in Concert
Grant Park Orchestra perform Fenton: Frozen Planet

Friday, July 13, 2012, 8:00pm and Saturday, July 14, 2012, 8:00pm
Perfectly Frank: From Broadway to Hollywood
Grant Park Orchestra and Members Of The Grant Park Chorus perform a selection of works by Frank Loesser

Wednesday, July 18, 2012, 6:30pm
Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances
Grant Park Orchestra perform Khachaturian: Violin Concerto and Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Friday, July 20, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, July 21, 2012, 7:30pm
Rossini: Stabat Mater
Grant Park Orchestra And Chorus perform Rossini: William Tell: Overture, Leighton: Hymn to Matter and Rossini: Stabat Mater

Wednesday, July 25, 2012, 6:30pm
Frozen in Time
Grant Park Orchestra perform Dorman: Frozen in Time, and Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5

Friday, July 27, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, July 28, 2012, 7:30pm
Beethoven's Fifth Symphony
Grant Park Orchestra perform Debussy: Khamma, Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 5, Egyptian, and Beethoven: Symphony No. 5

Wednesday, August 1, 2012, 6:30pm
Scheherazade
Grant Park Orchestra perform Carpenter: Adventures in a Perambulator, and
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade

Friday, August 3, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, August 4, 2012, 7:30pm
The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
Grant Park Orchestra perform Ginastera: Estancia: Four Dances, Piazzolla: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, and De Falla: Three-Cornered Hat

Wednesday, August 8, 2012, 6:30pm
Brahms' Double Concerto
Grant Park Orchestra perform Beethoven: Coriolan Overture, Brahms: Double Concerto, and Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 1

Friday, August 10, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, August 11, 2012, 7:30pm
Haydn: The Seasons
Grant Park Orchestra And Chorus perform Hydn: The Seasons

Wednesday, August 15, 2012, 6:30pm
Ryan Opera Center: Mozart and Strauss
Grant Park Orchestra perform Mozart: Cosi fan tutte, and Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier (Final Scene)

Friday, August 17, 2012, 6:30pm and Saturday, August 18, 2012, 7:30pm
Dvorák: The Spectre's Bride
Grant Park Orchestra And Chorus perform Dvorák: The Spectre's Bride


Made In Chicago: World Class Jazz

Thursday, July 19, 6:30 pm
Blowing in From Chicago

Thursday, July 26, 6:30 pm
Erwin Helfer: A Life in Boogie and Blues

Thursday, August 2, 6:30 pm
Roots of Routes: Makaya McCraven's Global Unit

Thursday, August 16, 6:30 pm
By a Little Light: Matt Ulery's Loom with special guests

Thursday, August 23, 6:30 p.m.
Frank Rosaly's ¡Todos de Pie! (Everyone Stand Up!)

Thursday, August 30, 6:30 pm (Opening Night of the 34th Annual Chicago Jazz Festival)
Exquisitely For Ella: A Songbook Tribute to Ella Fitzgerald: Jeff Lindberg's Chicago Jazz Orchestra

 

Doug / April 18, 2012 3:04 PM

Great job. I wish the Millennium Park website listed everything as nicely and in one place like this.

Mike Harris / April 23, 2012 6:30 PM

"the classical leaning Grand Park Music Festival"

the classical-leaning Grant Park Music Festival

#corrections

Mike Harris / April 23, 2012 7:33 PM

Here is all of it in a Google calendar.

joanne knetl / June 15, 2012 7:03 PM

I like the line-up for the summer but it is not complete. The brochure I picked up has more info. What about July 4 in the afternoon. There has been a concert in the afternoon and it is not in the brochure. We always go to Chicago Historical for theirs and then hike over to Mil.Park for the afternoon. My friends and I really enjoyed the past years.
Once you had reserved seating in the public area and it was really a bad idea with so many people getting very angry and the ushers had to take their abuse. Please don't do that again in the general seating,

nate / July 5, 2012 12:31 PM

Agree with Doug!!
"Great job. I wish the Millennium Park website listed everything as nicely and in one place like this."

Elyse Lagarenne / April 26, 2013 9:42 AM

Would love this list for 2013!

Add a Comment




Please enter the letter w in the field below:



Live Comment Preview


Notes & Tags

Items marked with a * are required fields. Please respect each other. We reserve the right to delete any comments borne out of douchebaggery or that deal in asshattery.

Permitted tags and how to use them:

To link: <a href="http://blahblahblah.com">Link text</a>
To italicize: <em>Your text</em>
To bold: <strong>Your text</strong>

Classical Thu Oct 09 2014

Pulling Strings: For classical music in Chicago, you got a guy - October 2014

By Elliot Mandel

"Classical music is dead. Long live classical music!" - The Internet. The lesson: Read less internet. See more music.

Read this feature »

Blogroll

  Chicago Music Media

Alarm Magazine
BackStage
Big Rock Candy Mountain
Boxx Magazine
Brooklyn Vegan Chicago
Can You See The Sunset From The Southside
Chicago Reader Music
Chicagoist Arts & Events
ChicagoMusic.org
Chicago Music Guide
Chicago Singles Club
CHIRP
Country Music Chicago
Cream Team
Dark Jive
Daytrotter
The Deli Chicago
Jim DeRogatis
Do312
Fake Shore Drive
Gowhere Hip Hop
Gridface
The Hood Internet
Innerview
Jaded in Chicago
Largehearted Boy
Little White Earbuds
Live Fix Blog
Live Music Blog
Loud Loop Press
Oh My Rockness
Pop 'stache
Pitchfork
Pop Matters
Resident Advisor
Songs:Illinois
Sound Opinions
Sun-Times Music Blog
Theft Liable to Prosecution
Tribune Music
UR Chicago
Victim Of Time
WFMU's Beware of the Blog
Windy City Rock

  Venues:

Abbey Pub
Andy's Jazz Club
Aragon Ballroom
Auditorium Theatre
Beat Kitchen
B.L.U.E.S
Bottom Lounge
Buddy Guy's Legends
The Burlington
California Clipper
Concord Music Hall
Congress Theater
Constellation
Cubby Bear
Double Door
Elbo Room
Empty Bottle
FitzGerald's
Green Mill
The Hideout
Honky Tonk BBQ
House of Blues
Kingston Mines
Lincoln Hall
Logan Square Auditorium
Martyrs'
Mayne Stage
Metro
The Mutiny
Old Town School of Folk Music
Park West
The Promontory
Red Line Tap
Reggie's Rock Club & Music Joint
The Riviera
Rosa's
Schubas
Thalia Hall
The Shrine
Smartbar
Subterranean
Symphony Center
Tonic Room
Township
Uncommon Ground
The Vic
The Whistler

  Labels, Promoters
  & Shops:

Alligator Records
Atavistic
Beverly Records
Bloodshot Records
Dave's Records
Delmark Records
Drag City
Dusty Groove
Flameshovel Records
Groove Distribution
He Who Corrupts
Hozac
Jam Productions
Jazz Record Mart
Kranky Records
Laurie's Planet of Sound
Minty Fresh
Numero Group
mP Shows
Permanent Records
Reckless Records
Smog Veil Records
Southport & Northport Records
Thick Records
Thrill Jockey Records Touch & Go/Quarterstick Records
Victory Records


Events

Sat Oct 25 2014
Spektral Quartet @ Constellation

Sat Oct 25 2014
The Toasters @ Beat Kitchen

Sat Oct 25 2014
Red Scare 10th Anniversary @ Metro

Sun Oct 26 2014
The Adventures of Danny & Mike @ Lincoln Hall

Sun Oct 26 2014
Beat Swap Meet @ Empty Bottle

Mon Oct 27 2014
Oozing Wound @ Empty Bottle

Mon Oct 27 2014
Nude Beach @ Subterranean

Thu Oct 30 2014
Smoker @ Empty Bottle

Fri Oct 31 2014
Boneshaker @ Redmoon Theater

Featured Series














 

Transmission on Flickr

Join the Transmission Flickr Pool.


About Transmission

Transmission is the music section of Gapers Block. It aims to highlight Chicago music in its many varied forms, as well as cover touring acts performing in the city. More...
Please see our submission guidelines.

Editor: Anne Holub, anne@gapersblock.com
Transmission staff inbox: transmission@gapersblock.com

Archives

 

Transmission Flickr Pool
 Subscribe in a reader.

GB Store

GB Buttons $1.50

GB T-Shirt $12

I ✶ Chi T-Shirts $15